Building a backlog

As the above picture will attest, a combination of pre-Christmas purchases, presents, and recent gifts to myself – coupled with a lack of time and a sincere attempt to get back into reading books without pictures – mean I’m well served for reading material. Granted, I need to finish The Book Thief, reread The Bell Jar for my book club, and work through my stack of single issues before I can make a dent in this pile, but there’s plenty for me to look forward to.

Guy Delisle’s Pyongyang was so accessible and fascinating that even my non-comicbook-reading girlfriend was won over (she might even beat me to reading Shenzhen); Batman: The Black Mirror will be my introduction to Scott Snyder’s writing on the character (no introduction needed to the wonderful work of artists Jock and Francavilla); and the first volume of Mind MGMT (a very handsome hardcover) will be my first time spent with a Matt Kindt comic.

The Immortal Iron Fist is a series I somehow slept on when it was originally released, but the talent of the creators involved means I have high hopes; the first volume of The Manhattan Projects was one of my favourite reads of 2013, so it’s high time I got caught up on the series; and I don’t know a single thing about The House That Groaned by Karrie Fransman, which is kinda refreshing. Hopefully I’ll find the time to binge read this lot in the not-too-distant future.

Leave a Reply

